You are here:

Cricket/cricket umpiring

Advertisement


Question
Hello sir I am quite confused about the no ball which is giving for crossing the imaginary line between the centre of 2 middle stumps by bowler. Can u please explain in detail what is it?

Answer
http://www.lords.org/mcc/laws-of-cricket/laws/law-24-no-ball/ has a short video which mentions it.

The thinking is that the striker is entitled to know from which side of the wicket the ball will be delivered.  This will govern the angle at which he stands.  In some cases the sightscreen could be in the wrong position.

Cricket

All Answers


Answers by Expert:


Ask Experts

Volunteer


Colin Pearson

Expertise

Cricket umpiring and scoring. I can answer questions on MCC Laws of Cricket but not ICC and other special regulations, which are frequently changing. I cannot answer questions on careers as a cricket umpiring. For details of courses, visit http://nompere.proboards.com (anywhere that has advertised), www.ecb.co.uk/ecbaco (UK only)

Experience

I passed The Association of Cricket Umpires and Scorers Full membership examinations in 1961 and have been an instructor since 1973, and examiner since 1977 and have undergone the first stage training as an Umpire Assessor for ECB Association of Cricket Officials. I was Chairman of Training Board for ACU&S from 1981 to 1997.

Organizations
ECB Association of Cricket Officials British Computer Society Society of Expert Witnesses Chartered Institute of Arbitrators Rotary International

Education/Credentials
MA Hons Cantab 1966 DMS Part 1, 1975 Enterprise Reader (rtd), Staffordshire University)

Awards and Honors
Taylor Scholarship 1963 Life Vice President ACU&S 1998

©2016 About.com. All rights reserved.