You are here:



Dear Sir,

A substitute is on field for a nominated player, with the umpires' permission.  That nominated player, after 20 minutes being out of field, comes onto the field with umpire's consent.

Does he have to wait for another 20 minutes of play before being asked to ball?


Can he bowl without having to wait for 20 minutes, as substitute has fielded for him?   


Consider the purpose behind the Law.

It is designed to prevent a fielder going off for a rest and then coming back to bowl immediately fully refreshed.

Indeed if there has been a substitute, the fielding side would have even more unfair advantage.


All Answers

Answers by Expert:

Ask Experts


Colin Pearson


Cricket umpiring and scoring. I can answer questions on MCC Laws of Cricket but not ICC and other special regulations, which are frequently changing. I cannot answer questions on careers as a cricket umpiring. For details of courses, visit (anywhere that has advertised), (UK only)


I passed The Association of Cricket Umpires and Scorers Full membership examinations in 1961 and have been an instructor since 1973, and examiner since 1977 and have undergone the first stage training as an Umpire Assessor for ECB Association of Cricket Officials. I was Chairman of Training Board for ACU&S from 1981 to 1997.

ECB Association of Cricket Officials British Computer Society Society of Expert Witnesses Chartered Institute of Arbitrators Rotary International

MA Hons Cantab 1966 DMS Part 1, 1975 Enterprise Reader (rtd), Staffordshire University)

Awards and Honors
Taylor Scholarship 1963 Life Vice President ACU&S 1998

©2017 All rights reserved.