You are here:

Cricket/Law 41.1



Many a times, in cricket matches we see fielders wrap up their fingers (specially fingers joints) with some protective bandage to avoid injury.

Do these players obtain the consent of the umpires?

If not, what action should the umpires take as per Law 41.1?


Yes - the players should obtain the consent of the umpire.

If they do not do so, then the umpires together should consider whether they are trying to gain an unfair advantage or merely protecting an old injury.

If thought to be deliberate, then instruct removal as unfair play.

Otherwise, explain gently that they should have sought permission in advance - and allow them to continue.


All Answers

Answers by Expert:

Ask Experts


Colin Pearson


Cricket umpiring and scoring. I can answer questions on MCC Laws of Cricket but not ICC and other special regulations, which are frequently changing. I cannot answer questions on careers as a cricket umpiring. For details of courses, visit (anywhere that has advertised), (UK only)


I passed The Association of Cricket Umpires and Scorers Full membership examinations in 1961 and have been an instructor since 1973, and examiner since 1977 and have undergone the first stage training as an Umpire Assessor for ECB Association of Cricket Officials. I was Chairman of Training Board for ACU&S from 1981 to 1997.

ECB Association of Cricket Officials British Computer Society Society of Expert Witnesses Chartered Institute of Arbitrators Rotary International

MA Hons Cantab 1966 DMS Part 1, 1975 Enterprise Reader (rtd), Staffordshire University)

Awards and Honors
Taylor Scholarship 1963 Life Vice President ACU&S 1998

©2017 All rights reserved.