You are here:

Cricket/Ball lawfully struck more than once twice on no ball


Respected Sir,
A No Ball delivered by the bowler, hits the Striker's gloves, lobs up in the air and is about to fall on the wicket. Striker deflects the ball with his bat and prevent it from falling on the stumps. Wicket Keeper, who is standing close to the stumps, appeals as he is prevented from catching the ball. What will be the Umpire's decision? If out which is the method of dismissal? Whether or not striker is allowed to strike the ball more than once in order to defence his wicket if delivery is No Ball?

Since it is a No Ball, the Striker cannot be out Bowled or Caught.

We must consider that he was not conscious of this protection and acts accordingly.

Had it been a fair ball, he is allowed a second hit to prevent being bowled EXCEPT if he obstructs the keeper from making a catch. HOWEVER, in this case there could be no catch.

Hence he should not be given out.

Subsequent runs would only be counted if there was an overthrow.  


All Answers

Answers by Expert:

Ask Experts


Colin Pearson


Cricket umpiring and scoring. I can answer questions on MCC Laws of Cricket but not ICC and other special regulations, which are frequently changing. I cannot answer questions on careers as a cricket umpiring. For details of courses, visit (anywhere that has advertised), (UK only)


I passed The Association of Cricket Umpires and Scorers Full membership examinations in 1961 and have been an instructor since 1973, and examiner since 1977 and have undergone the first stage training as an Umpire Assessor for ECB Association of Cricket Officials. I was Chairman of Training Board for ACU&S from 1981 to 1997.

ECB Association of Cricket Officials British Computer Society Society of Expert Witnesses Chartered Institute of Arbitrators Rotary International

MA Hons Cantab 1966 DMS Part 1, 1975 Enterprise Reader (rtd), Staffordshire University)

Awards and Honors
Taylor Scholarship 1963 Life Vice President ACU&S 1998

©2017 All rights reserved.