You are here:

Cricket/Ball struck more than once


QUESTION: Respected Sir,
A No Ball delivered by the bowler, hits the Striker's gloves, lobs up in the air and is about to fall on the wicket. Striker deflects the ball with his bat and prevent it from falling on the stumps. Wicket Keeper, who is standing close to the stumps, appeals as he is prevented from catching the ball. What will be the Umpire's decision? If out which is the method of dismissal? Whether or not striker is allowed to strike the ball more than once in order to defence his wicket if delivery is No Ball? 

ANSWER: Hi Prince,

Thanks for your question. Here is my answer.

A batsman is certainly guilty of obstructing the field if at any time he deliberately interferes. In obstruction if a fair catch is obstructed by non striker, it is always the striker out. But if it’s not a fair delivery, (no ball), it is the one who obstructs the field, will be given out.

Even though No ball has been called, then obviously WK might be trying to catch the ball, it will not be a catch. Distraction by a  batsman will still be obstruction, however catch is obstructed, the striker is not going to be out caught, as it was not a fair catch but still it will be considered obstruction to the fielder for fielding the ball, that will cost him the prize of getting out obstructing the field.

Hope this is clear to you. Your questions are too good and they are always welcome. I love to answer them with all passion about the game of cricket.


Suhas Sapre
Baroda 05/09/2016

---------- FOLLOW-UP ----------

QUESTION: Respected Sir,
As it was No ball in above scenario, Striker could not be considerd out as Obstructing the field under law37.3. Also
as it was No ball striker should not have tried to defence his wicket by striking the ball more than once under law 34.3, But as he hit the ball twice then will it be better to give striker out as Hit the ball twice instead of obstructing the field in above scenario? what is your opinion?

Hi Prince.

Nice follow up question, and my answer would be....

The striker, even though it was a no ball, would always react to stop that ball going into the stump. May be he might not have heard the call of No ball. So he is within his right to play second stroke to stop the ball going into his wicket and at the same time the WK will try to catch the ball. Even though it’s not a fair catch, he has no right to obstruct the action of the fielding side. So he is always out in this case, “Obstructing to the field” and not hit the ball twice.

Here he was within his right to play a second legitimate stroke to stop the ball from going into the wicket and it does not require a hard hit rather than just a soft push. So hit the ball twice can not be the correct decision.

On the other hand since No ball is called, he is not at risk of being bowled, so in that sense his wicket need not be defending. Nevertheless he is still entitled to try to stop the ball hitting his stumps

Law 37(3) states that The striker is out should wilful obstruction or destruction by either batsman prevents a catch being made.
This shall apply even though the striker causes the obstruction in lawfully guarding his wicket under the provision of Law 34.3 (Ball Lawfully struck more than once)

For a Hit the ball Twice: The catch word is WILFUL, and here his actions were not intentional, therefore he cannot be out under this Law.

Hope this will remove your doubts. Thanks.

With best wishes,

Suhas Sapre 06/09/2016


All Answers

Answers by Expert:

Ask Experts


Suhas L Sapre


I can help to give all questions regarding cricket laws, rules on both umpiring and cricket scoring. It will be a great pleasure to help any candidate who wants to clear the exam of BCCI. I can guide him how the questions are asked and the way they should be replied. I can also conduct classes for Cricket umpiring and scoring anywhere. I look forward to educate and promote local umpires in the days to come. I would help them to get through BCCI Level 1 exam.


I have been a state panel cricket umpire and doing umpiring for last 40 years and also a BCCI official national scorer since 2004, having done many International ODIs played at Baroda and many first class matches in Baroda. I have passed many state panel exams in both categories.

I was serving with State Bank of India, as an Officer, posted at Bodeli branch, some 65 Kmts from Baroda, having taken promotion in August 2012. I was thereafter transferred to Pavi Jepur Br, some 90 kmts from Baroda on 20/12/2013. Recently I have taken VRS from Bank as after becoming an officer I was facing lot of problems regarding leave to attend BCCI matches as a scorer and also Local umpiring and thus hampering my sporting activities. Now to enable me to spare more time for my passion, I have opted for VRS and was relieved on 30/01/2016 and now will look forward to enjoy my passion in the remaining years.Look forward to remain busy with cricketing activities for next one decade and more.Look forward to help my cricket colleagues. Look forward to give off my best services to my passion, which has taught me many more things and now I feel I must contribute towards the local cricket association, i.e. Baroda Cricket Association with all love and enthusiasm in the coming years.I feel proud to take VRS for the sake of my passion. Its a great feeling that I have taken a bold decision in the wake of my passion which has given me enjoyment and physical fitness to enjoy the game of cricket in the the days to come. Now I feel myself as a free bird and no tension. Look forward to help budding umpires.

Earlier I used to write in local newspaper but thereafter time has not permitted me to do so. I give my views over the controversial topic.

I am a degree holder of Commerce and having a reputed banking job in Baroda. Recently due to some personal problems and to fulfil my love and passion for the game of cricket I have opted volunteer retirement from the Bank service to enable me to do BCCI matches as an Official scorer in first class matches. Taking promotion in Bank and expecting leave for the matches was a major problem and that is one of the reasons to quit bank ahead of cricket.

Awards and Honors
I have passed several examination of cricket umpiring at State levels. I passed Mumbai cricket Association as well as Baroda Cricket Associations state exams. I had also cleared national written test of BCCI, but unfortunately sheer bad luck in viva and practical. I have also stood first in the Scorers' state level examinations at Saurashtra, exam conducted by Saurashtra Cricket Association and also stood first in Mumbai Cricket Association's Scorers' exam. I further cleared the BCCI national exam in the year 1994 held at Ahmedabad. In all I have officiated as an Umpire in more than 3500 matches, including T20, ODI, 3-4-5/days matches, 6-aside, double wicket tournaments, single wicket tournaments, and many more festival events and charity matches. I have also officiated as an official scorer in many first class cricket matches as well as almost all ODI matches played at the IPCL/ Reliance Cricket ground in Baroda. In all I have officiated as an official scorer in not less than 300 matches. I have been appointed a Sports Secretary of SBI in Baroda (2010 to 2012) I have been elected as one of the Umpires' committee of Baroda Cricket Association on 23.04.2012 Looking forward to take care of local umpires and will try to educate them. Recently I was privileged to conduct a 3-day cricket Umpires seminar on 7 to 9 September, 2012 along with Shri Sanjay Hazare, BCCI Elite panel cricket umpire. This was my first ever experience to conduct a seminar, which had almost 60 participants. I am thankful to the Baroda Cricket Association for giving me this opportunity. I have been honoured on many occasions with awards and certificates for my best umpiring. Recently on 13th February, 2014, I was invited as a Chief Guest by Amrut School in Halol, to celebrate the Annual Sports Day of their school.

Past/Present Clients

©2017 All rights reserved.