More Distance Learning Answers
Question Library
Ask a question about Distance Learning
Volunteer
Experts of the Month
Expert Login
Awards
About Us
Tell friends
Link to Us
Disclaimer
|
| |
|
|
| |
| | | |
About Cynthia Wolfe
Expertise Let me help you with questions about online programs and what is expected of an online student or instructor. I am an instructor as well as a student in an online program. If you are looking for a program or have questions about online learning in general, I can guide you. If you are a teacher looking for new ideas or methods, I can help. I have resources and ideas to share. I am a member of the National Business Education Association (NBEA), a professional organization devoted to the recognition that business education competencies are essential for all individuals in today's fast-changing society. Read about my experiences as an online student at my blog thinkPhD.
Experience I am an instructor at the University of Phoenix, working in online and classroom modalities. I am also a student at Northcentral University, where I am working on a PhD in Business Administration, with a specialty in Management. My MBA is from Troy University, 2001, and I have a BS, Environmental Science, from Troy University, 1980.
| | |
| |
You are here: Experts > Education > Distance Learning > Distance Learning > Distance Learning Medical Assistant
Expert: Cynthia Wolfe
Date: 5/9/2008
Subject: Distance Learning Medical Assistant
Question QUESTION: How can I find out if the online medical assistant program offered by St. Augustine Medical Services (www.medassistant.org) is a legitimate program and not part of the "degree mill?" Thanks.
ANSWER: Hi Joan,
Thanks for asking a question. I always recommend choosing an accredited program - you are on the right track by asking this question.
Use this link to find an AAMA accredited school in your area (I am not sure what state you are in):
http://www.aama-ntl.org/medassisting/caahep_prgs.aspx
I also found this link about St. Augustine:
http://medicalassistant.us/
That link states that it is accredited but does not say by which organization. I found this (http://www.certmedassistant.com/extreme_caution_example.htm) which indicates this organization operates under various names and has an office on Peachtree Street in Atlanta, GA. This makes me very suspicious. I cannot say for sure that it is a degree mill but it certainly sounds like one to me.
Regards,
Cindy Wolfe
---------- FOLLOW-UP ----------
QUESTION: I have found another online medical assistant program that I do think is legitmate with US Career Institute. First, do you know anything about this organization/program?
Second, they say that after the program you are elgible to take the certification exam through the National Healthcareer Association. It appears that there are at least a couple of organizations through which you can take the certification exam. However, I have not been able to determine if having certification from NHA is any different from one of the others. Can you shed any light on this? Thanks.
Answer Hello Joan,
Unfortunately, I am not familiar with the US Career Institute program. Let me suggest that you contact your physician's office and inquire about the training programs that the employees participated and graduated from. Perhaps there is a local program at your community college (as there is at mine) which includes classroom and on-the-job training. This would likely be preferable to online or correspondence courses only. This profession involves more than "book-learning"....it also includes the soft skills, such as "bedside manner."
Here are the credentials for USCI:
http://www.uscareerinstitute.com/abt_credentials.asp
Regards,
Cindy Wolfe
Add to this Answer
Ask a Question
|
|