You are here:

Golf/Loose Impediment

Advertisement


Question
My ball landed in a bunker and rolled back from the lip but came to rest in front of a very large stone that would definitely have damaged my club had I attempted to try to hit the ball out of the bunker. Since the ball was not resting directly against the stone, I removed it without disturbing the ball. Should I have taken a penalty?

Answer
Hello Geri:
Thanks for asking this questions.
Please see rule 23-1 of USGA regarding the stones in Bunkers.

Stones are by definition loose impediments regardless of their location. Thus, when the ball and the stone lie in or touch the same hazard, the stone may not be removed. However, a Committee may adopt a Local Rule stating that stones in bunkers are movable obstructions. Unless this Local Rule is put into effect by the Committee, players may not remove stones in bunkers without penalty.

Hope this helps you for application.
Thanks.  

Golf

All Answers


Answers by Expert:


Ask Experts

Volunteer


dan

Expertise

Golf Swing, Simple swing, Improving Golf, rule of game, PGA tour event.
Golf is a life-long learning game, and please visit:
my Learn Golf!


my Learn Golf 2!

Golf Swing Secrets!
SAP Book review from Amazon!

SAP Book Review for IT from Amazon!

- I recently published e-Book in Kindle, and I will appreciate for your review:
Golf Swing Total Control !

©2016 About.com. All rights reserved.