You are here:

Golf/? Penalty

Advertisement


Question
What is penalty for player inadvertently hitting ball without addressing ball -  and ball strikes a cart player is driving.  Is it only one shot if player replaces ball or can he be assessed a second penalty for hitting the cart

Answer
Hi Gordi,

The player receives a penalty of 1 stroke and must replace the ball according to Rule 18:
http://www.usga.org/rules/rules-and-decisions.html#!rule-18

Since the player did not intend on hitting the ball, and thus possible gaining advantage by hitting the cart, there is no extra penalty.

Best regards,
Ken Tannar

Golf

All Answers


Answers by Expert:


Ask Experts

Volunteer


Ken Tannar

Expertise

I can answer any questions related to the science or mathematics of golf which covers pretty well the whole game.

Experience

I am a physics/math teacher and 1 handicap and have a site dedicated to the subject called probablegolfinstruction.com

Organizations
B.C. Association of Physics Teachers

©2016 About.com. All rights reserved.