You are here:

Hindus/Four Varnas and today's cast system



The said four varnas- Brahmin, Kshatriya, Vaishya and Shudra. So in Kshatriya we generally considered Rajputs who ruled the states & protect their people so  we should categorize only Rajputs in this category or we can include Sikh  and other rulers of India who actually ruled.

Dear Disha,

The caste system is either based on the personality of the person or the profession carried on. It is NOT based on the birth. In other words if a Rajput is teaching in a university he is a Brahmin and not a Kshatriya. Most of the people who are presently ruling like ministers, IAS officers and govt servants are Kshatriyas. So if Sikhs are in the profession of governing the country then they are Kshatriyas.

It DOES NOT matter whether anyone ruled in the past or not. To determine the caste we need only to ascertain their current profession or their personality.

Thanks for asking this important question. If you need more clarifications please do not hesitate to ask a new question.

Best wishes,
Raja Subramaniyan


All Answers

Answers by Expert:

Ask Experts


Raja Subramaniyan


Explanation based on Vedanta / Gita which will answer any questions on life leading to Joyful Living


25 years of spiritual studies and written following text books. Gita for Joyful Living ( Path to Joyful Living - I based on Jeeva Yatra ( ) Path to Joyful Living - II based on Sadhana Panchakam( ) Joyful Living based on Panchadashi ( ) Parama Ragasiyam (Tamil) based on Brahma Sutra (


©2017 All rights reserved.

[an error occurred while processing this directive]