You are here:

Hindus/What is Samvad in Gita?


Dear Sir,

What Does Krishna Means, He said somewhere I am "Samveda" in Vedas.



There are four types of conversations namely Samvada, Vada, Jalpa and VidantaVada. Essentially all four happens between two individuals. The attitude of these two individuals determine the type of conversation.

Samvada: An example of this is Gita. A conversation between a teacher and a student. (One should have the attitude 'I do not know. I have to learn from the other' and the other should have the attitude 'I know everything. I have to teach the other'.

Vada: Both agree that they are equals and want to discuss with each other to establish the truth. Normally the loser in the arguments gets converted to the views of the winner at the end of the Vada. Vada should be in line with the scriptures. Usually there will be a judge in Vada who will ensure that the arguments are based on scriptures (Upanishads, Bhagavad Gita and Brahmasutras) and not from one's own ideas.

Jalpa: The objective of this type of conversation is to impose one's view on the other. Each one is convinced that his views are correct and opponents view is wrong EVEN BEFORE the commencement of the discussion and WILL NOT change this view EVEN AFTER the conclusion of the discussion. Essentially Jalapa is quite useless to both of them. However, the audience of Jalpa can gain some insights in the subject if they listen to them with an open mind.

VidandaVada: Here the knowledge or truth is immaterial. Both will have the attitude:'no matter what you say, you are wrong!'  This is sheer waste of time of everyone.

Samvada is the best way to gain knowledge. This is what Krihsna means.

Thanks for asking this question.

Best wishes,
Raja Subramaniyan.


All Answers

Answers by Expert:

Ask Experts


Raja Subramaniyan


Explanation based on Vedanta / Gita which will answer any questions on life leading to Joyful Living


25 years of spiritual studies and written following text books. Gita for Joyful Living ( Path to Joyful Living - I based on Jeeva Yatra ( ) Path to Joyful Living - II based on Sadhana Panchakam( ) Joyful Living based on Panchadashi ( ) Parama Ragasiyam (Tamil) based on Brahma Sutra (


©2017 All rights reserved.

[an error occurred while processing this directive]