Orthodox Judaism/Wine on passover

Advertisement


Question
Why are we permitted wine and not beer on passover since both are fermented?

Answer
Joel,
Thank you for your kind question. While you are correct that both drinks are fermented, the prohibition (Exodus 12:20) only applies to yeast that grows upon one of these 5 species: wheat, barley, oat, spelt, and rye. Beer is fermented barley. Wine is fermented grapes (not one of the chametz species). How can we be sure wine is permitted on Passover?

Chametz is not allowed on the Altar:

Leviticus 2:11
No meat offering, which ye shall bring unto the LORD, shall be made with leaven: for ye shall burn no leaven, nor any honey, in any offering of the LORD made by fire.

And some offerings did require a wine libation:

Exodus 29:40 And with the one lamb a tenth deal of flour mingled with the fourth part of an hin of beaten oil; and the fourth part of an hin of wine for a drink offering.

Hope this helps!

chag kasher v'sameach

Orthodox Judaism

All Answers


Answers by Expert:


Ask Experts

Volunteer


Ovadiah ben Avraham

Expertise

Willing to answer and research general Halakhah questions in any field, including medical ethics. No synagogue or ritual type questions except by non-Jews looking for a brief summary.

Experience

Yeshiva and self-study

Organizations
Jewish Spiritual Humanism

Education/Credentials
Doctorate Degree

©2016 About.com. All rights reserved.