You are here:

Pool/Billiards/calling balls and fouls questions

Advertisement


Question
In BCA rules, what are the rules regarding having cue ball  behind the headstring in 9 ball, 8 ball and straight pool? When are the times apart from the break that the cue ball in hand can only be placed behind the headstring?

When not calling non- obvious shots I understand its a loss of turn if you pot the ball without nominating but is it a foul?

If you pot your nominated ball in an open table and then scratch the cue ball, is the table open?

Can you hit the 8 ball in an open table, if not is is cue ball in hand to opponent?

Thank you :)

Answer
1.  never behind the headstring in 8 ball or 9 ball.  Straight pool is always behind the headstring.

2.  yes, loss of turn but not a foul.

3.  yes, still open.

4,  never.  you can never hit the 8 first.  foul.  (unless you made all your stripes and are now on the 8 ball).  You can hit your ball first that then hits the 8 ball and that is not a foul.

Pool/Billiards

All Answers


Answers by Expert:


Ask Experts

Volunteer


Dan Werner

Expertise

All aspects of the game, strategy, runs, etc. Main focus is 8ball, 9ball, and straight pool. Pattern Play, 2-way shots, kicks, banks, throws, trick shots, shot selection, caroms, league play, safety play, and more. Don't ask me about cue's, manufacturers, how much a table is worth, etc. I just don't know.

Experience

20 years playing pool

Organizations
BCA, APA, and past amateur leagues/tours

Education/Credentials
Bachelors in Business Administration/Marketing

©2016 About.com. All rights reserved.