Pool/Billiards/boston rules

Advertisement


Question
If im shooting the 8 ball to win the game and i miss the 8 ball and dont touch another ball do i lose the game or do i bring up one of my balls.

Answer
Most rules state that you dont lose and it is ball in hand for the other player.  Most bar rules just have it as a loss of turn.

Rules now don't have you bring up a ball.  On a bar table, it is impossible to bring up another ball anyhow.

Rules long ago had you bring up a ball if you scratched or fouled, but that is usually just in One Pocket now.

Pool/Billiards

All Answers


Answers by Expert:


Ask Experts

Volunteer


Dan Werner

Expertise

All aspects of the game, strategy, runs, etc. Main focus is 8ball, 9ball, and straight pool. Pattern Play, 2-way shots, kicks, banks, throws, trick shots, shot selection, caroms, league play, safety play, and more. Don't ask me about cue's, manufacturers, how much a table is worth, etc. I just don't know.

Experience

20 years playing pool

Organizations
BCA, APA, and past amateur leagues/tours

Education/Credentials
Bachelors in Business Administration/Marketing

©2016 About.com. All rights reserved.