Pool/Billiards/8 ball foul?


If after pocketing the 8-ball, an opponents ball is also potted on the same shot, is this a legal shot (win), or loss of game?

Hi John,

That would be a win.

As long as the 8 was struck first, goes into the intended pocket, and the cue ball stays on the table it doesn't matter what else falls. Also, it doesn't matter which ball fell first . The same is true during the game if you make your own ball properly and also make one (or more) of your opponent's balls. If your ball falls where you intended it to fall, the shot is good, no matter the order.

Also, in the case of a shot where your opponent's ball is blocking a pocket you can also play to make your object ball into the blocked pocket by having their ball fall first and your's following in after it. Call the ball, call the pocket. Good shot. And that's a real handy shot to know in 8-ball.

Play well and enjoy,



All Answers

Answers by Expert:

Ask Experts


Bill Newsted


I can answer questions related to shot-making, aiming, position play, strategies, practice, mental preparation and the psychology of the game. Also, rules as they vary from venue to venue and how to become a winning player. I have experience recovering and maintaining tables and will also answer questions related to cues and billiard equipment. However, I prefer not to make brand recommendations. I do not offer information identifying old tables and equipment or estimating their values.


I have played over forty years in every state in the US (except Alaska). My experience is largely in pool rooms but I have also played extensively on bar tables and in league organizations. I have directed numerous tournaments up to the professional level and have played several world champion players. I am a former Billiard Congress of America instructor.


B.S. in Visual Communication M.A. in Education: Career and Technology Education

©2017 About.com. All rights reserved.