Real Estate Law (esp. Landlord-Tenant)/Lease break fee
We may have to break our lease to move for a job offer. We rent in Oregon and there is a 45 day lease break fee, does my 30 day notice count for part of that fee? Can we give a 45 day notice and that suffice for the fee? Or do we give a 30 day notice, pay for that month and then have to pay for another 45 days? Thank you
Please refer to this link for Oregon landlord/tenant law: http://www.osbar.org/public/legalinfo/tenant.html
It's probably a total of 45 days that you would need to pay. However, you should carefully review the lease agreement and consult the appropriate landlord/tenant law (above).
Thanks for your question!
Attorney at Law
*No Attorney/Client Relationship and No Legal Advice -
Nothing contained herein is intended to be, nor shall be, legal advice. The above information is not intended as a solicitation and is not intended to be legal advice. It is your responsibility to seek out competent legal advice from a qualified legal professional before making any decisions relating to your issue. The hiring of an attorney is an important decision and should not be made based solely on advertisements.