Soccer (American), Football (European)/soccer red card

Advertisement


Question
is it a red card when a player hands the ball intentionaly in the opponents 6 yard box just before he tries to score?

Answer
The red card for intentional handling is primarily for a defender denying an obvious goal scoring opportunity that close to the goal.

An attacking player intentionally handling the ball to enhance his/her ability to score would be a yellow card offense.  That being said, I could imagine such an obvious handling in that situation that may warrant a red card for an attacking player, but I believe it would be a rare and exceptional situation.

Hope you have fun on the pitch.

Soccer (American), Football (European)

All Answers


Answers by Expert:


Ask Experts

Volunteer


John Cummings

Expertise

Do you have a call made by the referee in last week`s match puzzling you? Are you a referee who may not be certain that what was done was the right thing to do? I shall be glad to entertain any questions about officiating soccer. The more the players, coaches and supporters understand the referee and his/her decisions, the more fun we can have on the pitch.

Experience

After coaching my son's travel team, I have been USSF State Referee, State Assessor, Assignor and State Instructor in addition to having been a college NISOA referee,a NISOA clinician, a NISOA assessor and a high school referee.

Organizations
USSF, OSYSA, CASOA, NISOA

Publications
Soccer Ohio

Education/Credentials
J.D.

©2016 About.com. All rights reserved.