Soccer (American), Football (European)/Penalty or not?
Hi, please could you resolve this question that arose in a football match yesterday. An opposition striker ran onto a through ball into our penalty area our goalie charged at him to make save. Strikers first touch was woeful and the ball came off his shin and out of play apparently for a goal kick however as the ball crossed the line our goalies forward momentum caused him to collide with the striker and a penalty was awarded. The contact was made after the ball had crossed the line and gone out of play so was it right to award a penalty.
Hope you can help
Based on what you've said here, in my opinion it was wrong to award a penalty.
In the FIFA rules regarding a penalty kick, the rule states
"A penalty kick is awarded if any of the above offences(lists offences which constitute a foul) is committed by a player inside his own penalty area, irrespective of the position of the ball, provided it is in play."
The final statement here "provided it is in play" is the important part. If the ball is out of play, then a penalty should not be awarded.
However, there are other rules which relate to 'misconduct' for example, playing in a dangerous manor / violent conduct. If the referee decided that the goalkeeper was guilty of this, then he could punish the goalkeeper and possibly award a free-kick, as this offence took place inside the penalty area, then a penalty could be awarded !
As you have said, it was the 'keepers momentum that caused the foul, and the referee did not punish the keeper with a yellow or red card, then it would suggest the collision was accidental and thus, as the ball was out of play, no penalty should have been awarded.
I hope this answers your question, should you have any further questions please feel free to let me know.