You are here:

Softball/illegal pitch


Hi Mr. Mielke,

We had a pitcher called for an illegal pitch and a ball called on the batter and the runner on first was awarded second base. The runner kept running passed second into third as the third baseman was not paying attention. The pitch was not thrown and the pitcher was in the circle with the ball and never made a play on the runner. Is she allowed to go to third in this situation? What if the pitch had been delivered to the catcher? Thank you for your service.


An illegal pitch is a delayed dead ball.  If the pitch is delivered and the batter hits the ball or their is a wild pitch etc., the offense has the option of taking the results of the play or the penalty for the illegal pitch.

If the penalty for the illegal pitch is being awarded, the ball is dead.  The runner should not have been allowed to continue on to third base.



All Answers

Answers by Expert:

Ask Experts


Tom Mielke


Rule and scoring questions for girls/womens Fastpitch Softball. Primarily High School (NFHS) and ASA


Rec, Varsity and Travel Ball Coach and High School Umpire

Michigan High School Athletic Association registered official: Softball, Basketball

©2017 All rights reserved.