You are here:

Softball/Fair or Foul


Line drive over third base which the third baseman touches in foul territory while standing in fair territory?

Hi Kenny,

There is a very simple rule for fair/foul on a batted ball in flight, where is THE BALL when it is first touched by the defensive player?  If the ball is over foul territory when 1st touched it is a foul ball.  If THE BALL is over fair territory when 1st touched it is a fair ball.

The position (fair or foul territory)of the defensive player has NO EFFECT on what the call is.



All Answers

Answers by Expert:

Ask Experts


Dr. Mark R. Ambrose


I can answer all questions about book rules and "case book" rules governing the playing of ASA softball. Have a REAL situation that happened and are not sure the proper rule was applied, ask me.


I am a registered ASA umpire, a MASA "At-Large" umpire since 1996 and a retired District Umpire-In-Chief. I have very extensive experience in MASA State Championship and ASA national qualifying tournament play both as an umpire and an Umpire-In-Chief. I completed 3 ASA National Schools including the ASA national advanced umpire school in Ok City("Bernie" for those who know him was the lead clinician, I survived the week and couldn't let my kids watch the game tapes when I got home. No, I love you Bernie). I was one of 4 "Yankee" umpires selected to umpire the Men's D National East Championship in 2002 in Winter Haven FL

Amateur Softball Association (The authority in softball)

©2017 All rights reserved.