You are here:

Softball/Force out

Advertisement


Question
With a runner at 1st, and the ball hit to the short stop, can the 2nd baseman run to the bag and wait for the ball for the force out. He is not impeding the runner from getting safely to the bag. Our umpire stated he can not be on the bag without the ball.

Answer
Hi John,

He cannot block the base with out possession of the ball if the runner is attempting to attain the base.  F4 cannot w/out possession of the ball hinder the runner from freely touching the base.

Now if you are saying F4 simply went over to the base, put their foot on it and waited for the throw to arrive and the runner was no where near the base or the runner had free access to the base that is perfectly legal for F4 to do.  What I'm picturing here is a routine play at 1st where F3 has their heel on the corner or side of the base while they wait for the throw.  That's how the game is played.

Mark

Softball

All Answers


Answers by Expert:


Ask Experts

Volunteer


Dr. Mark R. Ambrose

Expertise

I can answer all questions about book rules and "case book" rules governing the playing of ASA softball. Have a REAL situation that happened and are not sure the proper rule was applied, ask me.

Experience

I am a registered ASA umpire, a MASA "At-Large" umpire since 1996 and a retired District Umpire-In-Chief. I have very extensive experience in MASA State Championship and ASA national qualifying tournament play both as an umpire and an Umpire-In-Chief. I completed 3 ASA National Schools including the ASA national advanced umpire school in Ok City("Bernie" for those who know him was the lead clinician, I survived the week and couldn't let my kids watch the game tapes when I got home. No, I love you Bernie). I was one of 4 "Yankee" umpires selected to umpire the Men's D National East Championship in 2002 in Winter Haven FL

Organizations
Amateur Softball Association (The authority in softball)

©2016 About.com. All rights reserved.