Softball/Run

Advertisement


Question
Players on1st & 3 rd   1out.   Hitter hits ball ball is thrower td 1st. 2nd  out.  1st  baseman throws ball to second  3rd out.  Does run from 3 rd  count?

Answer
The situation is runners on 1st an 3rd, one out.  Ball is hit, the second out is recorded at first base, this is a force play.  Since the batter/runner is put out, the runner going to second is no longer forced to run.  

The run scoring is based on the order of things happening.  If the runner on third touches home prior to the runner going to second being tagged out, the run scores.  If the runner going to second is tagged out prior to the runner on third scoring, no run scores.

Softball

All Answers


Answers by Expert:


Ask Experts

Volunteer


Tom Mielke

Expertise

Rule and scoring questions for girls/womens Fastpitch Softball. Primarily High School (NFHS) and ASA

Experience

Rec, Varsity and Travel Ball Coach and High School Umpire

Education/Credentials
Michigan High School Athletic Association registered official: Softball, Basketball

©2016 About.com. All rights reserved.