You are here:

Softball/Infield Fly

Advertisement


Question
Hello,

We have runners on first and second with no one out. The batter hits a pop up between home and first closer to first. The umpire calls infield fly. The ball then lands foul untouched and rolls into fair territory between home and first. What is the correct call? Thank you for your service. I've learned a great deal here.

Answer
Hi Lisa,

It doesn't matter where the ball 1st landed between home and 1st, it is where the ball settles or is 1st touched.  Since the ball rolled fair BEFORE 1st base and settled or was touched there it is a fair ball with the resultant IF and the batter is out.  Also since the ball was not caught runners need not have tagged to advance at their own risk.

Had the ball landed fair and then rolled foul before the base it would be simply a foul ball and no IF, we would cancel it because an IF must be a fair ball.

Mark

Softball

All Answers


Answers by Expert:


Ask Experts

Volunteer


Dr. Mark R. Ambrose

Expertise

I can answer all questions about book rules and "case book" rules governing the playing of ASA softball. Have a REAL situation that happened and are not sure the proper rule was applied, ask me.

Experience

I am a registered ASA umpire, a MASA "At-Large" umpire since 1996 and a retired District Umpire-In-Chief. I have very extensive experience in MASA State Championship and ASA national qualifying tournament play both as an umpire and an Umpire-In-Chief. I completed 3 ASA National Schools including the ASA national advanced umpire school in Ok City("Bernie" for those who know him was the lead clinician, I survived the week and couldn't let my kids watch the game tapes when I got home. No, I love you Bernie). I was one of 4 "Yankee" umpires selected to umpire the Men's D National East Championship in 2002 in Winter Haven FL

Organizations
Amateur Softball Association (The authority in softball)

©2016 About.com. All rights reserved.