You are here:

Softball/Ball hits bat second time

Advertisement


Question
Hi mark, batter hits ball and it in fair territory just in front of plate and b-r is totaly  out of batter box . B-r drop bat in fair territory and hits ball second time. What is ruling with  or with out base runners.thanks,chris

Answer
Hi Chris,

If THE BAT is out of the batter's hands, dropped or thrown hits a fair batted ball the ball is dead, the batter is out, and all runners return to the last base touched at the time of the interference.  It doesn't matter if the batter is in or out of the box.

If the bat is on the ground and THE BALL in fair territory hits the bat the batter is not out and the ball is fair or foul depending on where it's 1st touched or settles.

If the bat or the ball 1st touches a ball in foul territory it is a foul ball.

Mark  

Softball

All Answers


Answers by Expert:


Ask Experts

Volunteer


Dr. Mark R. Ambrose

Expertise

I can answer all questions about book rules and "case book" rules governing the playing of ASA softball. Have a REAL situation that happened and are not sure the proper rule was applied, ask me.

Experience

I am a registered ASA umpire, a MASA "At-Large" umpire since 1996 and a retired District Umpire-In-Chief. I have very extensive experience in MASA State Championship and ASA national qualifying tournament play both as an umpire and an Umpire-In-Chief. I completed 3 ASA National Schools including the ASA national advanced umpire school in Ok City("Bernie" for those who know him was the lead clinician, I survived the week and couldn't let my kids watch the game tapes when I got home. No, I love you Bernie). I was one of 4 "Yankee" umpires selected to umpire the Men's D National East Championship in 2002 in Winter Haven FL

Organizations
Amateur Softball Association (The authority in softball)

©2016 About.com. All rights reserved.