You are here:

Softball/circle violation rule

Advertisement


Question
I have a girl on third no outs and the batter is walked. the batter runs down to first and rounds first and continues to run to second while the ball is thrown back to the pitchers circle. the pitcher turns around to watch the batter run from the plate  after 4 balls where pitched and does not stop at first just continues to second without stopping. is this a circle violation or no.

Answer
Robert,

What you are talking about is the look back rule.  

When the ball is in the circle, the runner is not prevented from continuing to second in your situation.

If the runner stops between first and second, they must immediately choose a base to go to.  As long as the pitcher does not make a play or attempt to make a play they must continue on to the base they committed to after they stopped.  If they stop or hesitate to choose a base after they stop, they are out.  A fake throw from the pitcher would be considered an attempt to make a play.

Tom  

Softball

All Answers


Answers by Expert:


Ask Experts

Volunteer


Tom Mielke

Expertise

Rule and scoring questions for girls/womens Fastpitch Softball. Primarily High School (NFHS) and ASA

Experience

Rec, Varsity and Travel Ball Coach and High School Umpire

Education/Credentials
Michigan High School Athletic Association registered official: Softball, Basketball

©2016 About.com. All rights reserved.