You are here:

Softball/Illegal Pitch

Advertisement


Question
Hi Dr. Ambrose,

My question concerns the illegal pitch. Is the penalty the same for all types of illegal pitches, that being ball on the batter and all base runners advance one base?

Thanks,
Kirk

Answer
Hi Kirk,

I assume FP here, SP is much different....

Well not quite....if the batter hits the IP and reaches 1st base safely and if all other runners have advanced at least one base on the batted ball, the IP is nullified, all action stands.  No option is given.....so in some cases you could have outs called against you even though there was an IP.

otherwise the manager can take the result of the play OR the IP is enforced by a ball on the batter and advancing all runners 1 base.

If the batter is hit by an IP out of the strike zone, the batter is awarded 1st and all runners are awarded 1 base.

Mark

Softball

All Answers


Answers by Expert:


Ask Experts

Volunteer


Dr. Mark R. Ambrose

Expertise

I can answer all questions about book rules and "case book" rules governing the playing of ASA softball. Have a REAL situation that happened and are not sure the proper rule was applied, ask me.

Experience

I am a registered ASA umpire, a MASA "At-Large" umpire since 1996 and a retired District Umpire-In-Chief. I have very extensive experience in MASA State Championship and ASA national qualifying tournament play both as an umpire and an Umpire-In-Chief. I completed 3 ASA National Schools including the ASA national advanced umpire school in Ok City("Bernie" for those who know him was the lead clinician, I survived the week and couldn't let my kids watch the game tapes when I got home. No, I love you Bernie). I was one of 4 "Yankee" umpires selected to umpire the Men's D National East Championship in 2002 in Winter Haven FL

Organizations
Amateur Softball Association (The authority in softball)

©2016 About.com. All rights reserved.