You are here:

Softball/Which college softball pitcher takes the loss?

Advertisement


Question
Starting pitcher (SP) goes 3 and 1/3 innings and is removed.  Score is 2 to 1 in favor of her team with 1 out.   SP gave up 2 hits , a double followed by a single in that inning. Relief pitcher (RP) comes in with 0ne out runners on 2nd and third. RP gives up several more hits and finishes the inning losing 4 to 2.  RP finishes the game giving up 9 total hits and 6 runs, loses 9 to 7 .  Who is the losing pitcher?

Answer
Ted,

The runners on second and third at the time of the pitching change are the responsibility of the starting pitcher.  When they score, they are charged to her.

As long as there were no other lead changes during the game, the starting pitcher is charged with the loss in this situation.

Tom

Softball

All Answers


Answers by Expert:


Ask Experts

Volunteer


Tom Mielke

Expertise

Rule and scoring questions for girls/womens Fastpitch Softball. Primarily High School (NFHS) and ASA

Experience

Rec, Varsity and Travel Ball Coach and High School Umpire

Education/Credentials
Michigan High School Athletic Association registered official: Softball, Basketball

©2016 About.com. All rights reserved.