You are here:

Softball/Interference at home


Dear Sir,
At my daughter' fast-pitch 10-11 year old game tonight, the runner from third attempted to take home on a passed ball.  The catcher retrieved the ball and threw it to the pitcher who tagged the runner.  The batter was left-handed and did not leave the batter's box. My question is should the batter have been called out for interference?  Would it make a difference if the batter was right-handed?
Thank you for your time,

Hi Jeff,

It doesn't matter if the batter is right or left handed the batter's box is not a sanctuary for the batter when a play is being made at hp.

ASA 7-6-s the batter is out...when interfering with a play at home plate.

Now just the fact that they were standing there is not in and of itself interference.  Did the batter impede or hinder the player attempting to make a play.  If they did it is interference, if not, no interference.

The batter just puts themselves in a bad position for an interference call to be made and they need to get out the bb and away from the play.



All Answers

Answers by Expert:

Ask Experts


Dr. Mark R. Ambrose


I can answer all questions about book rules and "case book" rules governing the playing of ASA softball. Have a REAL situation that happened and are not sure the proper rule was applied, ask me.


I am a registered ASA umpire, a MASA "At-Large" umpire since 1996 and a retired District Umpire-In-Chief. I have very extensive experience in MASA State Championship and ASA national qualifying tournament play both as an umpire and an Umpire-In-Chief. I completed 3 ASA National Schools including the ASA national advanced umpire school in Ok City("Bernie" for those who know him was the lead clinician, I survived the week and couldn't let my kids watch the game tapes when I got home. No, I love you Bernie). I was one of 4 "Yankee" umpires selected to umpire the Men's D National East Championship in 2002 in Winter Haven FL

Amateur Softball Association (The authority in softball)

©2017 All rights reserved.

[an error occurred while processing this directive]