You are here:

Softball/Scoring Errors

Advertisement


Question
If the short stop throws a catchable ball to the first baseman to make a play on the runner, and the first baseman drops the balls, tips the ball, or doesn't stretch to make the play; which player is awarded the error?  Please explain.
Thank you

Answer
If the ball is catchable with normal effort by F3, then the error goes to F3.  If it takes more than normal effort then the error goes to F6.

If the ball hits the ground prior to reaching F3 and it is missed it is always an error on the throw.

Tom

Softball

All Answers


Answers by Expert:


Ask Experts

Volunteer


Tom Mielke

Expertise

Rule and scoring questions for girls/womens Fastpitch Softball. Primarily High School (NFHS) and ASA

Experience

Rec, Varsity and Travel Ball Coach and High School Umpire

Education/Credentials
Michigan High School Athletic Association registered official: Softball, Basketball

©2016 About.com. All rights reserved.