Why is interference NOT called on br when they run to first when there is a d3K, with first occupied with less than two outs?

We have some coaches that teach their girls to run everytime. MHO, I think it is intentional interference. I understand defense should know what is going on, but it obvious why they run to first, to confuse the defense. Can you give rule number for this? Thanks

Hi jan,

ASA 8-7-p note. a runner continuing to run and drawing a throw may be considered a form of interference. This does not apply to the b-r running on the dropped 3rd strike rule.

This last sentence has been considered to mean a b-r running on a uncaught strike regardless of the count or base(s) occupied. That's just the way it's (not) called.

All I can tell you it gets much better as the players gain experience.  The catcher is obviously the key to staying controlled and calm in the non DK3 situation (knowing the situation) and not hurrying a play on the batter who ultimately is going nowhere.



All Answers

Answers by Expert:

Ask Experts


Dr. Mark R. Ambrose


I can answer all questions about book rules and "case book" rules governing the playing of ASA softball. Have a REAL situation that happened and are not sure the proper rule was applied, ask me.


I am a registered ASA umpire, a MASA "At-Large" umpire since 1996 and a retired District Umpire-In-Chief. I have very extensive experience in MASA State Championship and ASA national qualifying tournament play both as an umpire and an Umpire-In-Chief. I completed 3 ASA National Schools including the ASA national advanced umpire school in Ok City("Bernie" for those who know him was the lead clinician, I survived the week and couldn't let my kids watch the game tapes when I got home. No, I love you Bernie). I was one of 4 "Yankee" umpires selected to umpire the Men's D National East Championship in 2002 in Winter Haven FL

Amateur Softball Association (The authority in softball)

©2017 All rights reserved.

[an error occurred while processing this directive]