You are here:

Softball/tag up rule


Andy wrote at 2013-06-19 13:24:16
Yes, but why should the defensive team be penalized? The run counts cause the defense has to appeal the tag up. Im saying the run should be disallowed because the runner actually leaves second before the runner crosses the plate. So by the time the defensive team appeals, naturally the runner from third will cross the plate. Im saying the run should not count. But it does

Joseph wrote at 2014-08-24 18:59:05
Just wanted to add that the rule is the same in baseball,  that the run would count as it is a timing play.


All Answers

Answers by Expert:

Ask Experts


Dr. Mark R. Ambrose


I can answer all questions about book rules and "case book" rules governing the playing of ASA softball. Have a REAL situation that happened and are not sure the proper rule was applied, ask me.


I am a registered ASA umpire, a MASA "At-Large" umpire since 1996 and a retired District Umpire-In-Chief. I have very extensive experience in MASA State Championship and ASA national qualifying tournament play both as an umpire and an Umpire-In-Chief. I completed 3 ASA National Schools including the ASA national advanced umpire school in Ok City("Bernie" for those who know him was the lead clinician, I survived the week and couldn't let my kids watch the game tapes when I got home. No, I love you Bernie). I was one of 4 "Yankee" umpires selected to umpire the Men's D National East Championship in 2002 in Winter Haven FL

Amateur Softball Association (The authority in softball)

©2017 All rights reserved.

[an error occurred while processing this directive]