You are here:

Softball/Interference

Advertisement


Question
NFHS-Runners on first / second slapper hits ball towards short. Short runs in looking like she is going to attempt a play, but stops as base runner is about to pass in front, argument obviously was that she stooped to avoid collision. No contact was made. Interference??

Answer
NFHS does not require contact for an interference call.  All of the rules are designed to prevent collisions.  If the runner causes the fielder to change how they play the ball, there is interference.  

When there is contact the call is automatic.  Without contact you bring the umpires judgement into play.  It sounds like interference to me.

Tom

Softball

All Answers


Answers by Expert:


Ask Experts

Volunteer


Tom Mielke

Expertise

Rule and scoring questions for girls/womens Fastpitch Softball. Primarily High School (NFHS) and ASA

Experience

Rec, Varsity and Travel Ball Coach and High School Umpire

Education/Credentials
Michigan High School Athletic Association registered official: Softball, Basketball

©2016 About.com. All rights reserved.