You are here:

Softball/Occupied bases

Advertisement


Question
I have a situation that occured and have a question.  Bases are loaded and a ball is hit to the shortstop.  If the shortstop gets the out at second base, can the baserunner that is running from second to third base then go back to second base? Or does that baserunner have to run to third base?

Answer
Hi Becky,

When the batter became a batter-runner w/ bases loaded all runners were "forced" from the base they were at.....Now with R3 (on 1st) being put out at 2nd that removes the force from all the runners.

R2 (on 2nd) can now legally re-acquire 2nd base if they wish and R1 (on 3rd) can go home or stay on 3rd.

So when the force is removed by the out at 2nd the runners can either go to the next base or retreat back to where they came from.

Just an extra... say R1 and R2 were now both at 3rd, R1 is legally entitled to it and R2 could be put out by tagging them even if R2 was standing on the base.

Mark

Softball

All Answers


Answers by Expert:


Ask Experts

Volunteer


Dr. Mark R. Ambrose

Expertise

I can answer all questions about book rules and "case book" rules governing the playing of ASA softball. Have a REAL situation that happened and are not sure the proper rule was applied, ask me.

Experience

I am a registered ASA umpire, a MASA "At-Large" umpire since 1996 and a retired District Umpire-In-Chief. I have very extensive experience in MASA State Championship and ASA national qualifying tournament play both as an umpire and an Umpire-In-Chief. I completed 3 ASA National Schools including the ASA national advanced umpire school in Ok City("Bernie" for those who know him was the lead clinician, I survived the week and couldn't let my kids watch the game tapes when I got home. No, I love you Bernie). I was one of 4 "Yankee" umpires selected to umpire the Men's D National East Championship in 2002 in Winter Haven FL

Organizations
Amateur Softball Association (The authority in softball)

©2016 About.com. All rights reserved.