You are here:

Softball/ASA JO Fastpitch - Flex bats for an injured player

Advertisement


Question
Earlier today I was at a tournament where the Flex was allowed to bat for an injured player.  The injured player had to leave the game.  There was a Sub but she was used for another player earlier in the game.  The injured player was not the DP.  Is there any ASA rule that actually allows this?

Thanks in Advance,
Doug

Answer
Hi Doug,

If it was an ASA tournie, absolutely not!  The Flex can only bat for the DP, since it is the DP who is batting for the Flex, only the DP, not anyone else, ever.  They needed to play shorthanded and take an out in that bp.

RS15 The DP and the Flex may not be on offense at the same time
or read ASA 4 A-I

This is a definite "P" word situation!

Mark  

Softball

All Answers


Answers by Expert:


Ask Experts

Volunteer


Dr. Mark R. Ambrose

Expertise

I can answer all questions about book rules and "case book" rules governing the playing of ASA softball. Have a REAL situation that happened and are not sure the proper rule was applied, ask me.

Experience

I am a registered ASA umpire, a MASA "At-Large" umpire since 1996 and a retired District Umpire-In-Chief. I have very extensive experience in MASA State Championship and ASA national qualifying tournament play both as an umpire and an Umpire-In-Chief. I completed 3 ASA National Schools including the ASA national advanced umpire school in Ok City("Bernie" for those who know him was the lead clinician, I survived the week and couldn't let my kids watch the game tapes when I got home. No, I love you Bernie). I was one of 4 "Yankee" umpires selected to umpire the Men's D National East Championship in 2002 in Winter Haven FL

Organizations
Amateur Softball Association (The authority in softball)

©2016 About.com. All rights reserved.