You are here:

Softball/foul ball

Advertisement


Question
If a batted ball that goes upward and does not go above batter's head and is caught by the catcher either fair or foul, an out or just a foul ball that is a strike on the batter, and if runners on base can they advance?

Answer
What you have is a caught fly ball regardless if the ball is caught over fair or foul terriorty.  Whether or not the ball goes above the batters head has no affect on anything, ever.   This is an out and the runners may advance as long as they don't leave the base prior to the catch.

Tom

Softball

All Answers


Answers by Expert:


Ask Experts

Volunteer


Tom Mielke

Expertise

Rule and scoring questions for girls/womens Fastpitch Softball. Primarily High School (NFHS) and ASA

Experience

Rec, Varsity and Travel Ball Coach and High School Umpire

Education/Credentials
Michigan High School Athletic Association registered official: Softball, Basketball

©2016 About.com. All rights reserved.