Softball/lbr

Advertisement


Question
QUESTION: Runner on 3Rd, batter walks, stops between first and second to see if pitcher will make a play. Pitcher does nothing. Batter then goes to second. Is the batter out for stopping?

ANSWER: The stop was not illegal as long as there was not a noticeable hesitation before the runner continued.  If the pitcher started to make a play or fake a play, then the runner could hesitate.

---------- FOLLOW-UP ----------

QUESTION: What is would be hesitation? If she stopped for a few seconds to try to get the pitcher to react. Would that be considered hesitation?

Answer
The rule book states that once the runner stops, with the pitcher in control of the ball in the circle and the pitcher is not making a play or attempting/faking a play, the runner must immediately choose a base and proceed there.  The younger the players, the longer immediate is in my judgement.

A few seconds would definitely be a hesitation at any level.  If this is what happened, the runner should be out.

Tom  

Softball

All Answers


Answers by Expert:


Ask Experts

Volunteer


Tom Mielke

Expertise

Rule and scoring questions for girls/womens Fastpitch Softball. Primarily High School (NFHS) and ASA

Experience

Rec, Varsity and Travel Ball Coach and High School Umpire

Education/Credentials
Michigan High School Athletic Association registered official: Softball, Basketball

©2016 About.com. All rights reserved.