You are here:

Softball/NFHS look-back play

Advertisement


Question
R1 on second and batter gets first with ball four. Batter-runner legally runs to and steps on first, but then takes three or four steps towards second, stops and then returns to first base. Pitcher has ball in circle and doesn't make a play on batter-runner. Should the batter-runner be called out....ie look-back rule? R1 legally returns to second.

Answer
As long as there was not a hesitation when the batter/runner stopped and then returned to first, the batter/runner would not be out.  If there was a noticeable hesitation, then the runner should be called out.

This is assuming that the pitcher has control of the ball in the circle and is not making a play or attempting/faking a play on the other runner.  

Softball

All Answers


Answers by Expert:


Ask Experts

Volunteer


Tom Mielke

Expertise

Rule and scoring questions for girls/womens Fastpitch Softball. Primarily High School (NFHS) and ASA

Experience

Rec, Varsity and Travel Ball Coach and High School Umpire

Education/Credentials
Michigan High School Athletic Association registered official: Softball, Basketball

©2016 About.com. All rights reserved.