You are here:

Softball/Fast pitch award of two bases

Advertisement


Question
QUESTION: Batter is out after hitting fly caught by center fielder.  Center then overthrows to first.  Ball hits front of dugout. Ump awards runner on first two bases, sending her to third.  The ball was in foul territory in front of the dugout, not in the dugout.  Is an award of two bases, from first to third correct?  If so, what rule applies. Blocked ball?  Thank you.

ANSWER: Glenice,

I will make one assumption about your question that is not stated.  I am going to assume that the portion of the dugout the ball hit is out of play.  Without this assumption, the awarding of bases makes no sense.

The rule for awarding bases when a fielder throws a ball out of play is two bases from the last base achieved by the runner at the time of release of the throw that goes out of play.  Deflections don't matter.

As long as the portion of the dugout the ball hit was out of play, this is the correct award.

Tom

---------- FOLLOW-UP ----------

QUESTION: Thank you, Tom.  Could you explain what portion of the dugout is out of play?

Glenice

Answer
It really depends on the field.

On a field we play on, the fence is separate from the dugout.  The dugout sits about 6 inches from the fence, but the fascia of the dug out roof is higher than the fence.  If the ball hits the fascia of the roof, it is out of play.

Tom  

Softball

All Answers


Answers by Expert:


Ask Experts

Volunteer


Tom Mielke

Expertise

Rule and scoring questions for girls/womens Fastpitch Softball. Primarily High School (NFHS) and ASA

Experience

Rec, Varsity and Travel Ball Coach and High School Umpire

Education/Credentials
Michigan High School Athletic Association registered official: Softball, Basketball

©2016 About.com. All rights reserved.