You are here:

Softball/Substitution

Advertisement


Question
Tom,
The question deals with NFHS rule set. At a recent game, the HC removed the starting 3rd baseman and moved the starting right fielder in to play 3rd. During that inning, the new 3rd baseman was injured and had to come out of the game. The HC reinserted the original starting 3rd baseman back into the game to play 3rd. where does this infielder go into the line up, the second 3rd baseman spot in the order? Just wanted to make sure I told her correctly. Thanks.

Answer
Once a player is in the line up, they will always be on the same spot in the line up if they are removed from the game and reentered.   If thr starting f5 was in the third spot in the batting order they need to be reentered in the same spot in the order.  

Softball

All Answers


Answers by Expert:


Ask Experts

Volunteer


Tom Mielke

Expertise

Rule and scoring questions for girls/womens Fastpitch Softball. Primarily High School (NFHS) and ASA

Experience

Rec, Varsity and Travel Ball Coach and High School Umpire

Education/Credentials
Michigan High School Athletic Association registered official: Softball, Basketball

©2016 About.com. All rights reserved.