You are here:

Softball/base running

Advertisement


Question
In ASA if the runner on first base sees the long fly ball is about to be caught - he backs up towards the dugout about 2 steps in order to see the catch, after the catch he then runs towards second retouching first base and continue to second.   Is it a delayed dead ball and the runner is out.
can you give the rule set for it?

Answer
Hi kw,

The runner is specifically by rule....out!  The ball remains live.

ASA 8-7-v  "The runner is out....when a runner is positioned behind and not in contact with the base to get a running start on any fly ball."

The umpire simply calls "R1 (or whoever) is OUT!" and we play on.  Even if the ball is not caught, they are still out.

Mark

Softball

All Answers


Answers by Expert:


Ask Experts

Volunteer


Dr. Mark R. Ambrose

Expertise

I can answer all questions about book rules and "case book" rules governing the playing of ASA softball. Have a REAL situation that happened and are not sure the proper rule was applied, ask me.

Experience

I am a registered ASA umpire, a MASA "At-Large" umpire since 1996 and a retired District Umpire-In-Chief. I have very extensive experience in MASA State Championship and ASA national qualifying tournament play both as an umpire and an Umpire-In-Chief. I completed 3 ASA National Schools including the ASA national advanced umpire school in Ok City("Bernie" for those who know him was the lead clinician, I survived the week and couldn't let my kids watch the game tapes when I got home. No, I love you Bernie). I was one of 4 "Yankee" umpires selected to umpire the Men's D National East Championship in 2002 in Winter Haven FL

Organizations
Amateur Softball Association (The authority in softball)

©2016 About.com. All rights reserved.