You are here:

Softball/Baserunner leaving early - scoring

Advertisement


Question
Who gets credited with the putout when a baserunner on second gets called out for leaving the base early?  I've seen answers that indicate it could be the pitcher (since she had possession of the ball at the time) or the closest fielder (in this case either the SS or 2B).  Thank you.

Answer
Credit the putout to the closest fielder.

The NFCA scoring guide does not cover this specifically but has many examples of other situations where the closest fielder is credited with the put out.  

https://nfca.org/web_docs/store/ATECBeyondBasicsOfScoring.pdf

Tom

Softball

All Answers


Answers by Expert:


Ask Experts

Volunteer


Tom Mielke

Expertise

Rule and scoring questions for girls/womens Fastpitch Softball. Primarily High School (NFHS) and ASA

Experience

Rec, Varsity and Travel Ball Coach and High School Umpire

Education/Credentials
Michigan High School Athletic Association registered official: Softball, Basketball

©2016 About.com. All rights reserved.