You are here:

Softball/Double Base

Advertisement


Question
ASA Double Base Rule...this play occurred in an 8u game.  Batter-Runner advances toward first base and steps on the white base just before the throw is caught by the first baseman touching the white base.  The batter-runner never runs past the base thus not setting up an appeal time for the defensive team.  Is the batter-runner out for not touching the orange base or safe because she did not run through 1st base and stopped on the base?

Answer
Hi Michael,

good question and it occasionally comes up in clinics.  The rule states that the defense has to make an appeal before the b-r returns to the base.  

In this case they never left the base so how can the defense make an appeal? They can't so the batter-runner is safe.

It doesn't happen very often in my experience, I don't think the vast majority of umpires have or ever will see it, but it is IMO a small quirk in the double base rule.

Mark

Softball

All Answers


Answers by Expert:


Ask Experts

Volunteer


Dr. Mark R. Ambrose

Expertise

I can answer all questions about book rules and "case book" rules governing the playing of ASA softball. Have a REAL situation that happened and are not sure the proper rule was applied, ask me.

Experience

I am a registered ASA umpire, a MASA "At-Large" umpire since 1996 and a retired District Umpire-In-Chief. I have very extensive experience in MASA State Championship and ASA national qualifying tournament play both as an umpire and an Umpire-In-Chief. I completed 3 ASA National Schools including the ASA national advanced umpire school in Ok City("Bernie" for those who know him was the lead clinician, I survived the week and couldn't let my kids watch the game tapes when I got home. No, I love you Bernie). I was one of 4 "Yankee" umpires selected to umpire the Men's D National East Championship in 2002 in Winter Haven FL

Organizations
Amateur Softball Association (The authority in softball)

©2016 About.com. All rights reserved.