You are here:

Softball/Runner on 1st doesn't leave base and is tagged before runner reaches 1st

Advertisement


uncle duke wrote at 2014-05-15 14:25:37
I beg to differ Mark, the ump made the right call. Infield fly rule is in effect in this situation. Base runner has the right to the bag {1st base} and the batter is out. Only one of the players {base runner/batter} may be called out in this situation. It's only fair for the base runner. If the rules have been changed for infield fly 2014 then I stand corrected.  


drmarka wrote at 2014-05-17 11:59:34
Hi UD,

you misread the question.....There is no IF, 2nd base per the OP is open.  A runner only on 1st w/less than 2 out does not invoke the IF rule.



Mark


Softball

All Answers


Answers by Expert:


Ask Experts

Volunteer


Dr. Mark R. Ambrose

Expertise

I can answer all questions about book rules and "case book" rules governing the playing of ASA softball. Have a REAL situation that happened and are not sure the proper rule was applied, ask me.

Experience

I am a registered ASA umpire, a MASA "At-Large" umpire since 1996 and a retired District Umpire-In-Chief. I have very extensive experience in MASA State Championship and ASA national qualifying tournament play both as an umpire and an Umpire-In-Chief. I completed 3 ASA National Schools including the ASA national advanced umpire school in Ok City("Bernie" for those who know him was the lead clinician, I survived the week and couldn't let my kids watch the game tapes when I got home. No, I love you Bernie). I was one of 4 "Yankee" umpires selected to umpire the Men's D National East Championship in 2002 in Winter Haven FL

Organizations
Amateur Softball Association (The authority in softball)

©2016 About.com. All rights reserved.