You are here:

Softball/Girls Fastpitch, ASA Ruling

Advertisement


Question
Hello,

If a  complete 7-inning game was played and the score was  tied and it was to dark to continue to the 8th inning, should the game be continued on another day?  The ASA rules seem to infer that the 8th inning should continue immediately following the completed 7 innings to break the tie.  

Thank you very much!

Answer
If the game can not end in a tie such as a tournament elimination game, then the game will be completed by picking up where if left off when it was called due to darkness.  

A game can end in a tie.  You usually do not see it continued the next day unless it is an elimination game.

Tom

Softball

All Answers


Answers by Expert:


Ask Experts

Volunteer


Tom Mielke

Expertise

Rule and scoring questions for girls/womens Fastpitch Softball. Primarily High School (NFHS) and ASA

Experience

Rec, Varsity and Travel Ball Coach and High School Umpire

Education/Credentials
Michigan High School Athletic Association registered official: Softball, Basketball

©2016 About.com. All rights reserved.