You are here:

Softball/softball rules


Has it always been a rule in slow pitch softball that when you come to bat , there is one strike and ball on the batter ?

Hi Cheryl,

No, not at all.  When I first started umpiring ASA in the early 90's it was 0-0 for both league and tournies.  Later many leagues went to 1-1 (local rule) to speed games along and in the early 2000's I believe ASA went to 1-1 in SP.

Many times in tournie play the players had to get use to the 0-0 count as that was the only place they saw it.



All Answers

Answers by Expert:

Ask Experts


Dr. Mark R. Ambrose


I can answer all questions about book rules and "case book" rules governing the playing of ASA softball. Have a REAL situation that happened and are not sure the proper rule was applied, ask me.


I am a registered ASA umpire, a MASA "At-Large" umpire since 1996 and a retired District Umpire-In-Chief. I have very extensive experience in MASA State Championship and ASA national qualifying tournament play both as an umpire and an Umpire-In-Chief. I completed 3 ASA National Schools including the ASA national advanced umpire school in Ok City("Bernie" for those who know him was the lead clinician, I survived the week and couldn't let my kids watch the game tapes when I got home. No, I love you Bernie). I was one of 4 "Yankee" umpires selected to umpire the Men's D National East Championship in 2002 in Winter Haven FL

Amateur Softball Association (The authority in softball)

©2017 All rights reserved.