You are here:

Softball/ASA d3k


Were is book does it refer to batter being ok not going directly to first on d3k? Say they head towards dugout (do not leave playing field) then realize they should run to first. Thank you.

Hi Jan,

Like many other things that happen in softball the book doesn't specifically say "on a d3k if the b-r goes toward their dugout but changes their mind before then and runs to 1st , it's ok."

So we put together the rules that tell us what to the batter becomes a b-r when the catcher fails to catch the 3rd strike before....(ASA8-1-b)

The b-r is out "when the b-r fails to advance to 1st base and enters the team area.....(ASA 8-2-d)  This 1 is enough for many umpires, didn't out.  Defense has to make a play.

and we also know the runner is not out "when a runner does not run in a direct line to a base..." ASA 8-8-b

So in understanding many softball rules you need to know the entirety of the book and how 1 rule adds to others to get the right call.



All Answers

Answers by Expert:

Ask Experts


Dr. Mark R. Ambrose


I can answer all questions about book rules and "case book" rules governing the playing of ASA softball. Have a REAL situation that happened and are not sure the proper rule was applied, ask me.


I am a registered ASA umpire, a MASA "At-Large" umpire since 1996 and a retired District Umpire-In-Chief. I have very extensive experience in MASA State Championship and ASA national qualifying tournament play both as an umpire and an Umpire-In-Chief. I completed 3 ASA National Schools including the ASA national advanced umpire school in Ok City("Bernie" for those who know him was the lead clinician, I survived the week and couldn't let my kids watch the game tapes when I got home. No, I love you Bernie). I was one of 4 "Yankee" umpires selected to umpire the Men's D National East Championship in 2002 in Winter Haven FL

Amateur Softball Association (The authority in softball)

©2017 All rights reserved.

[an error occurred while processing this directive]