You are here:

Softball/Obstruction on the base path.


Short pop up hit to the shortstop in the base path.   Runner going from second to third does not run into fielder but obstructs her enough (not intentionally) so that the catch is not made (infield fly rule does not apply to this case).  Should the runner be called out?

Hi Tracy,

We have to start with the proper terminology.....the offense interferes....the defense obstructs.

So what you have here is interference.  Interference is the act of an offensive player that impedes, hinders or confuses a defensive player attempting to execute a play.  Interference can be physical contact, verbal or visual distraction or any other type of distraction that hinders the fielder.  Except in very limited circumstances it need not be intentional.

In this case we have a dead ball, the runner who interfered is called out, all other runners return to the last base touched at the time of interference and the b-r is awarded 1st base.



All Answers

Answers by Expert:

Ask Experts


Dr. Mark R. Ambrose


I can answer all questions about book rules and "case book" rules governing the playing of ASA softball. Have a REAL situation that happened and are not sure the proper rule was applied, ask me.


I am a registered ASA umpire, a MASA "At-Large" umpire since 1996 and a retired District Umpire-In-Chief. I have very extensive experience in MASA State Championship and ASA national qualifying tournament play both as an umpire and an Umpire-In-Chief. I completed 3 ASA National Schools including the ASA national advanced umpire school in Ok City("Bernie" for those who know him was the lead clinician, I survived the week and couldn't let my kids watch the game tapes when I got home. No, I love you Bernie). I was one of 4 "Yankee" umpires selected to umpire the Men's D National East Championship in 2002 in Winter Haven FL

Amateur Softball Association (The authority in softball)

©2017 All rights reserved.