You are here:

Softball/Time Out


During a high school softball game, our pitcher was on the rubber.  She had presented the ball and was part way through her windmill when the coach from the other team called a time out from his 3rd base coaching position.  The ump behind the plate stopped our pitcher and called an official time out.  We argued that there could not be a time out called in the middle of a pitch, but the umpire said he could call time out whenever he wanted.  I can't find a rule on this anywhere.  What's the right answer?

Hi Nancy,

No manager, coach, player, or spectator can call "Time".  Only an umpire can and the PU was not  correct on calling time whenever they want..  ASA 10-4-F "an umpire shall not call time if requested by the offense team after the pitcher has started the delivery."

What's the penalty???? none, other than the umpire embarrassing themselves to other umpires that know the rule and having a little talk with the UIC if they hear about it or it becomes common or being downgraded on their ratings.



All Answers

Answers by Expert:

Ask Experts


Dr. Mark R. Ambrose


I can answer all questions about book rules and "case book" rules governing the playing of ASA softball. Have a REAL situation that happened and are not sure the proper rule was applied, ask me.


I am a registered ASA umpire, a MASA "At-Large" umpire since 1996 and a retired District Umpire-In-Chief. I have very extensive experience in MASA State Championship and ASA national qualifying tournament play both as an umpire and an Umpire-In-Chief. I completed 3 ASA National Schools including the ASA national advanced umpire school in Ok City("Bernie" for those who know him was the lead clinician, I survived the week and couldn't let my kids watch the game tapes when I got home. No, I love you Bernie). I was one of 4 "Yankee" umpires selected to umpire the Men's D National East Championship in 2002 in Winter Haven FL

Amateur Softball Association (The authority in softball)

©2017 All rights reserved.