You are here:

Softball/fly ball, base running

Advertisement


Question
runners on 1b and 2b, fly ball to short right field and runners advance 1b while making contact with new base. fly ball looks like it could be caught so the runners attempt to tag up by returning to 1b and 2b. Fly ball is not caught. The runners attempt to go back to 2b and 3b. Umpire calls them out for not advancing in legal order due to the attempt to return to their original starting base after they both advanced to the next base.

Thanks

Answer
Hi James,

The ASA rule book is big enough without a so called "umpire" making up their own rules.  There is absolutely no rule telling a runner if they advance to the next base on a fly ball they cannot retreat to their previous base.  In fact in some cases such a caught ball they would have to in order to legally tag up.

The "P" word should have been used here!

mark

Softball

All Answers


Answers by Expert:


Ask Experts

Volunteer


Dr. Mark R. Ambrose

Expertise

I can answer all questions about book rules and "case book" rules governing the playing of ASA softball. Have a REAL situation that happened and are not sure the proper rule was applied, ask me.

Experience

I am a registered ASA umpire, a MASA "At-Large" umpire since 1996 and a retired District Umpire-In-Chief. I have very extensive experience in MASA State Championship and ASA national qualifying tournament play both as an umpire and an Umpire-In-Chief. I completed 3 ASA National Schools including the ASA national advanced umpire school in Ok City("Bernie" for those who know him was the lead clinician, I survived the week and couldn't let my kids watch the game tapes when I got home. No, I love you Bernie). I was one of 4 "Yankee" umpires selected to umpire the Men's D National East Championship in 2002 in Winter Haven FL

Organizations
Amateur Softball Association (The authority in softball)

©2016 About.com. All rights reserved.