You are here:

Softball/Fast pitch softball

Advertisement


Question
Runner on second with one out. Batter hits the ball to the short stop. The runner on second is called out for interference. Should the batter also be called out?

Answer
Hi Carlos,

On most interference calls, we have a dead ball, the runner who caused interference is out and the b-r is awarded 1st base and any other runner(s) advances only if forced.  The only way we call the b-r out (if they did not interfere) is if the runner who caused interference in a obvious attempt to prevent a double play.

So in your OP, dead ball, R1 out, b-r awarded 1st base.

Mark

Softball

All Answers


Answers by Expert:


Ask Experts

Volunteer


Dr. Mark R. Ambrose

Expertise

I can answer all questions about book rules and "case book" rules governing the playing of ASA softball. Have a REAL situation that happened and are not sure the proper rule was applied, ask me.

Experience

I am a registered ASA umpire, a MASA "At-Large" umpire since 1996 and a retired District Umpire-In-Chief. I have very extensive experience in MASA State Championship and ASA national qualifying tournament play both as an umpire and an Umpire-In-Chief. I completed 3 ASA National Schools including the ASA national advanced umpire school in Ok City("Bernie" for those who know him was the lead clinician, I survived the week and couldn't let my kids watch the game tapes when I got home. No, I love you Bernie). I was one of 4 "Yankee" umpires selected to umpire the Men's D National East Championship in 2002 in Winter Haven FL

Organizations
Amateur Softball Association (The authority in softball)

©2016 About.com. All rights reserved.