You are here:



High school softball. With 2 outs and a runner at third base in the bottom of the seventh inning the score is tied and the batter has a 3-2 count.  The pitch is called ball 4 but the ball is a wild pitch and the winning run comes in from third base. In the joy of winning the game the batter joins in the and does not go to touch first base. At what point can the defense appeal that the batter runner is out for not touching first base. We know the batter can be called out for entering dead ball territory but if the defense appeals and the batter is still in live ball territory must we allow her the chance to go to first.

Hi PJ,

An interesting question.  You have little choice here, you have to wait for them to enter dead ball territory before the umpires leave the field or your infield has left fair territory.  As long as they are in live ball territory you have to wait as they can advance to 1st.  Remember no one can physically assist them to 1st.



All Answers

Answers by Expert:

Ask Experts


Dr. Mark R. Ambrose


I can answer all questions about book rules and "case book" rules governing the playing of ASA softball. Have a REAL situation that happened and are not sure the proper rule was applied, ask me.


I am a registered ASA umpire, a MASA "At-Large" umpire since 1996 and a retired District Umpire-In-Chief. I have very extensive experience in MASA State Championship and ASA national qualifying tournament play both as an umpire and an Umpire-In-Chief. I completed 3 ASA National Schools including the ASA national advanced umpire school in Ok City("Bernie" for those who know him was the lead clinician, I survived the week and couldn't let my kids watch the game tapes when I got home. No, I love you Bernie). I was one of 4 "Yankee" umpires selected to umpire the Men's D National East Championship in 2002 in Winter Haven FL

Amateur Softball Association (The authority in softball)

©2017 All rights reserved.